Texas DWI Laws
Texas DWI Laws
In the state of Texas, you cannot operate a motor vehicle if your blood alcohol concentration level is .08 percent or more.
Apart from this, for commercial drivers, state has a limit of .04 percent. If your age is less than twenty-one, this limit is going to be .02 percent.
As a driver, you are also prohibited from driving if you have taken substances like marijuana and cocaine. Texas law clearly highlights the consequences for each DWI offense.
Dallas Texas DWI Lawyer
In Texas, if you are convicted of a DWI, your punishment is going to be lot less if it happens to be your first offense.
There is going to be variation on the punishments on the basis of your blood alcohol concentration level and whether there was a child in your vehicle.
The jail sentence is going to be in the vicinity of three days to six months. If there was a child in your vehicle, sentence will start from six months to two years.
Your driving license is going to be suspended for a period of three months to one year. What’s more, you will also be required to do a community service for twenty to hundred hours. Also get ready for financial penalty, with amounts in the range of $2,000 or so.
Texas law imposes much stricter penalties if you are convicted for a DWI second time. Talking about the jail term, it goes up from one month to one year. If there was a child in your vehicle, you are going to be subjected to six months to two years jail term.
In this scenario, your driving license is going to be suspended for a period of six months to two years. The financial penalty is going to be in the bracket of $4,000.
There is a strong possibility that a judge will sentence you to a community service term of anywhere between hundred to two hundred hours. In addition, you also need to install an ignition interlock instrument on your vehicle.
The best part about ignition interlock device is that your car is not going to start if your blood alcohol limit is much more than the prescribed state limit.
Third and higher offenses
After the initial two DWI convictions, as a driver, you are going to face a jail sentence of between three to ten years. The figure of financial penalty is also going to increase, generally in the range of $10,000.
Your driving license is going to be suspended for anything in the vicinity of six months to two years. Also get ready to serve community service for 150 hours to 600 hours.
If the judge is of the opinion that your charge comes under the category of a ‘felony’, you will be required to participate in an alcohol rehabilitation program.
Administrative license revocation
In Texas, if you fail a breath or blood test, get ready for an administrative license revocation. When this is the case, you need to surrender your license immediately. You will be issued a temporary permit in this scenario.
In addition, you are going to get a time frame of fifteen days for the purpose of court hearing. If you do not follow this route and 40 days have pass by, your driving license is going to be suspended for a period.
In case of first offense, the penalties are thirty day driving license suspension for a failure of test. If you do not participate in a test, suspension can go up to six months. In the case of second offense, test failure is going to cause one-year suspension while test refusal will lead to two years suspension.
A DWI charge is going to have an impact on the Class-A driver’s ability when it comes to license renewal.
Until and unless you get a clean chit, your driving record is going to get a mention of DWI charge. And you cannot get a Class-A license if your driving record is not clean.
Contact a Dallas DWI Lawyer in Texas
Therefore, individual with a DWI conviction need to serve all the sentences and pay financial penalties. Furthermore, individual also need to show official legal documents pertaining to court. There is a good chance that you also need to go through skill test, road test and safety inspection once again in order to get the driving license back.